How do I get a new EPA certification card?

Does my EPA certification expire? EPA regulations (40 CFR Part 82, Subpart F) under Section 608 of the Clean Air Act require that technicians who maintain, service, repair, or dispose of equipment that could release refrigerants into the atmosphere must be certified. Section 608 Technician Certification credentials do not expire.

Can I get my universal EPA certification online? Can You Take EPA 608 Online? Yes! Since the Type I Certification is open book, you can study and take your test online right now. If the appliances you are working on exceed five pounds of refrigerant, the test will need to be proctored.

How do I verify my EPA certification? Please call 800/297-5660 x 2338 or email with any questions. Lost your certification card?

How do I get a new EPA certification card? – Related Questions

How long does it take to get EPA certification?

After passing the test, you will become EPA certified! *TEST RESULTS WILL BE MAILED WITHIN 2-3 WEEKS. The ESCO Institute Section 608 EPA Preparatory Manualcovers all questions contained on the EPA test.

What is the difference between EPA 608 and 609?

EPA regulations (40 CFR Part 82, Subpart F) under Section 608 of the Clean Air Act address the handling and recycling of refrigerants used in stationary refrigeration and air conditioning systems. under Section 609 of the Clean Air Act specifically address the servicing of motor vehicle air conditioners (MVACs).

How many questions are on the EPA certification test?

The EPA 608 Type I exam consists of 50 multiple choice questions in total. Half of these questions are for the Core section of the exam, while the other 25 multiple choice questions are for the Type I portion of the exam.

What is EPA Type 2 certification?

Type 2 – High-Pressure Appliances

This EPA certification will enable you to service or dispose of medium- to very high-pressure appliances, except in applications such as small appliances or air conditioners within motor vehicles.

What EPA certification do I need to buy refrigerant?

Refrigerant can only be sold to technicians certified under the Section 608 or Section 609 technician certification programs, where individuals may only purchase refrigerant consistent with the appliances covered by their certification.

What are the different types of EPA certification?

There are four types of EPA certification: Type I, Type II, TYPE III, and Universal Certification. Type I Certification (Small Appliances) – This certification covers manufactured, charged, and hermetically sealed appliances with five pounds or less of refrigerant.

Can you get HVAC certified online?

Online HVAC Certificate Programs. Those who are interested in learning the fundamentals of HVAC systems—as well as current HVAC professionals interested in deepening their competencies in various subfields—have the option to gain HVAC training through online certificate programs.

What is a EPA certification number?

A hazardous waste EPA ID number is issued by either the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency ( federal EPA ID numbers) or by DTSC (California State EPA ID numbers). The EPA ID number identifies each handler of hazardous waste on hazardous waste manifests and other paperwork.

What is EPA certified mean?

This means that the United States Environmental Protection Agency has examined the work that the company does and has certified that they are meeting the EPA’s standards for protecting the environment. Becoming EPA Certified is a process that has to be worked through for any company wanting to carry that designation.

How do I verify my EPA 608 Certification?

To easily verify a technician’s certifications, enter their NATE ID number here. Technicians who wish to opt out of being included in the list are asked to email

What is a 609 certification?

Section 609 of the Federal Clean Air Act requires technicians who service motor vehicle air conditioning “MVAC” systems to be certified. Required to service motor vehicle A/C systems. Required to purchase small containers (under 20 lb) of regulated refrigerants.

Is refrigerant certification needed and what can happen if I don’t have it?

No. EPA prohibits the sale of used refrigerant for use in an appliance unless that refrigerant has been reclaimed by an EPA certified reclaimer. If you have used refrigerant that you do not need for your own appliances, EPA recommends that you contact an EPA certified reclaimer or your local refrigerant distributor.

What appliances is not covered by EPA Section 608?

The Section 608 regulations include leak inspection and verification test requirements for owners/operators of appliances that contain ozone-depleting refrigerant. These regulations do not apply to appliances containing solely substitute refrigerant such as HFCs.

Who needs 609 certification?

Any person who repairs or services a motor vehicle air conditioning (MVAC) system for consideration (payment or bartering) must be properly trained and certified under section 609 of the Clean Air Act by an EPA-approved program. All technicians servicing MVAC-like appliances must be certified.

Can you buy r22 with a 609 certification?

You cannot purchase R-22 refrigerant if you are only certified under 609. You will need to have a valid 608 certification as well in order to legally purchase or handle R-22 refrigerant. 609 certification only covers automotive air conditioning units.

What score do you need to pass the EPA 608?

To earn an EPA 608 Universal Certification, students must pass the Core Section Quiz, the Type I Section Quiz, the Type II Section Quiz and the Type III Section Quiz. Each section quiz is graded individually. The passing score for each section quiz is 72%, which is 18 correct answers.

What kind of questions are on the EPA 608 test?

Universal certification

There are a total of 100 multiple choice questions and has a passing score of 70%. It is proctored and therefore, the examinee has to attend to a physical location. Passing this examination means that the technician is privileged to act like a Type I, Type II, or Type III technician.

Is mainstream engineering approved by the EPA?

Qwik608. Mainstream is approved by the EPA as a certifying agency for Section 608 Type I, II, III and Universal exams and Section 609 Motor Vehicle A/C certification.

Do you need a license to buy Freon?

There is no “license” issued by anyone for any refrigerant. There is an EPA certification process available, and required, for purchase and handling of CERTIN refrigerants. R410a IS NOT one of those.

How do I get lead certified?

For EPA lead certification, companies must register and pay a fee with EPA, and individuals must take a one-day lead safety training course approved by the EPA to become a certified renovator. The EPA lead certification is good for five years.

Are there online trade schools?

Many trade school online programs take 12 months or fewer to complete. Graduates enter the workforce sooner than their peers who enroll in a two- or four-year school. Online vocational and trade schools feature programs aligning with in-demand and high-paying careers.

Categorized in: